Contact us

We Care

Surfing has always been one of Lorenz Bäumer’s passions; in 2003 he discovered the island of Sumba in Indonesia. Beyond the splendid landscapes, he was immediately attracted by the smiles of the children who welcomed him. These radiant faces, despite the difficult living conditions, never left him.

According to Lorenz Bäumer, “Every child, wherever he or she lives, represents the future of our planet, and they all deserve to grow up in the best possible conditions to be actors of tomorrow’s world”. It is a cause that affects him personally as a global citizen but also as a father. He therefore wanted to make a commitment to the future of children by accompanying them in their school careers.

Thanks to close cooperation with the Sumba Foundation whose main mission is to make life easier for the Indonesians on the island of Sumba, while respecting their culture and traditions, Maison Bäumer supports access to education for the island’s children.

Inspired by Sumba’s cultural heritage: their sculptures, the pictures on their houses but also the weaving of their baskets, Lorenz Bäumer has designed a unique collection of silver pendants. The jewellery is made in the villages thanks to ancestral know-how.

One pendant sold makes it possible to accompany seven children with their school supplies for a year. Since the beginning of this project, Maison Bäumer has been supporting more than 20,000 children in cooperation with the Sumba Foundation.

If you would like to support the Sumba Foundation, please visit sumbafoundation.org

>

Nous contacter

We Care

Le surf a toujours été l’une des passions de Lorenz Bäumer, c’est ainsi qu’il découvre en 2003 l’île de Sumba en Indonésie. Au-delà de la splendeur des paysages, il a tout de suite été attiré par le sourire des enfants qui l’ont accueilli. Ces visages rayonnants malgré des conditions de vie difficiles, ne m’ont jamais quitté.

Selon Lorenz Bäumer « Chaque enfant où qu’il vive, représente le futur de notre planète, et tous méritent de grandir dans les meilleures conditions pour être acteur du monde de demain ». C’est une cause qui le touche très personnellement en tant que citoyen du monde mais aussi en tant que père. Il a donc souhaité s’engager pour l’avenir des enfants en les accompagnants dans leurs parcours scolaires. 

Grâce à une collaboration étroite avec la Fondation Sumba dont la mission principale est de faciliter la vie des Indonésiens de l’île de Sumba tout en respectant leur culture et leurs traditions, la Maison Bäumer soutient l’accès à l’éducation des enfants de l’île.

Inspiré par le patrimoine culturel de Sumba : leurs sculptures, les images sur leurs maisons mais aussi les tressages de leurs paniers. Lorenz Bäumer a dessiné une collection inédite de pendentifs en argent. Les bijoux sont réalisés dans les villages grâce à leur savoir-faire ancestral.

Un pendentif vendu permet d’accompagner sept enfants avec ses fournitures scolaires pendant une année. Depuis le début de ce projet, la Maison Bäumer accompagne plus de 20 000 enfants avec la collaboration de la Fondation Sumba.

Si vous aussi vous souhaitez aider la Fondation Sumba, retrouvez toutes les informations sur leur site : sumbafoundation.org.