Crazy Lagoon pendant.

Topaz is a mineral gem that has a very wide color palette.

Where does the name "Topaz" come from?

The name "topaz" probably comes from the volcanic island Topazos (from the Greek topazion, "to seek" in reference to the perceived difficulty at the time of finding the island). The island, now called Zabargad or St. John's Island (Egypt), contained deposits of peridots. However, peridots were called topazes until the Middle Ages, hence the confusion between the name of the island and the stone.

Other sources believe, however, that the word "topaz" originates from a Sanskrit word, "tupas", meaning "fire".

What are the colors of Topaz?

Topaz can be colorless like yellow, orange-brown, light blue, pale pink to bright pink, red, purple or even pale green (the latter color is rare).
The deep orange-pink colored stones are known worldwide as "imperial topaz".

What is its symbolism?

The yellow color that was associated with topazes recalling the color of the rising sun, the stone is synonymous with rebirth in certain cultures of the world.

Today, topaz in general symbolizes wisdom, self-confidence, merit and firmness as well as the 44th wedding anniversary. But where blue topaz symbolizes births in December (like turquoise and tanzanite), imperial topaz represents births in November (like citrine and tiger's eye).

Where does it come from?

The main topaz operator is Brazil, where imperial topazes, among others, come from.

How do I care for my jewel set with a Topaz?

Topaz color may fade under too strong a light source. A mixture of dishwashing liquid and water on a cloth is enough to clean your stone.


Agate belongs to the quartz family, and more specifically, to that of microcrystalline quartz whose crystals are not visible to the naked eye...


Aquamarine is a mineral from the beryl family, just like emerald and morganite.


Amethyst, like citrine, belongs to the quartz family, and more specifically, to that of macrocrystalline quartz, that is to say that its crystals are visible to the naked eye.


Chalcedony belongs to the quartz family.


Citrine, like amethyst, belongs to the quartz family, and more specifically, to that of macrocrystalline quartz; that is, its crystals are visible to the naked eye.


Labradorite is a mineral from the feldspar family like moonstone.


Garnet designates a family of gemstones which includes several types of stones of identical crystalline structure and the best known of which are those of red color, namely pyropes, almandines and rhodolites.


By “opal”, we mean three different types of stones which have considerably different physical properties: iridescent precious opals also called noble opals which are the best known, vermilion red fire opals and common opals.


Peridot is a variety of gem also known as chrysolite or olivine.


Moonstone belongs to the feldsparth family, just like labradorite.


Quartz is a family of minerals with the same chemical composition and similar physical properties.


Spinel refers to a group of similar minerals, few of which are gem quality.


Topaz is a mineral gem that has a very wide color palette.


The word tourmaline designates a mineralogical family which groups together a series of isomorphic crystals (of the same shape).


Tsavorite belongs to the garnet family and more particularly to that of grossularis, a variety of garnet which includes gems of yellow, green or brown color.

Personalize your room

An important date, the name of a loved one... Maison Bäumer offers you the engraving of your jewel.

The art of giving by La Maison Bäumer

Each jewel is sublimated in its Bäumer case, to which you can add a message.

contact us

Our advisors are at your disposal to answer your questions

By telephone :
+33 1 42 86 99 33
Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.